However, if you observe disturbing symptoms in your child, under the control of a doctor you perform tests and examinations and after performing them you hear the diagnosis: celiac disease, allergy, intolerance, Duhring's disease - you face a difficult task.
Gluten free diet. For the average bread eater, gluten is "something in wheat." Kind of truth. Gluten, generally speaking, is a protein found in European cereals.
Therefore, the gluten-free diet consists in excluding wheat, rye, barley and oats (Polish - contaminated with gluten from other cereals) from the diet. Finnish oats certified for sale are free from gluten). And here, the majority of "fresh" ask: that is, turn off bread, flour and pasta? Yes. It is obvious.
It is less obvious, however, that in addition to these flagship cereal products, we must also exclude from the diet of the sick ... nearly 80-90% of products available on store shelves. Sounds terrible? And it's terrible - luckily only at the beginning. When we explore the secrets and eliminate threats, a gluten-free diet will prove to be a healthy way of life and at the same time a medicine. So here are some tips to get you started on the gluten-free road. Here we go:
There are some rules to follow when preparing gluten-free meals. Thanks to them, we will be sure that our child's dinner is safe. Start by completing the kitchen "layette". Separate pots, knife, chopping board etc.
Also separate the pantry - do not store gluten-free flour and starches together with the "usual" ones. When cooking, always do it separately - prepare a gluten-free meal first, and then the one with gluten. You will avoid mistakes and possible contamination with dusty wheat flour.
Why is restrictive cleanliness of meals so important? It is assumed that daily intake of 50 mg of gluten seriously harms celiac disease patients, therefore even trace amounts can be dangerous.
Where is gluten lurking?
Gluten certainly does not contain: vegetables, fruits, unprocessed meat. Products like yeast, potato starch and sugar are usually considered gluten-free. Theoretically, this chapter should also include naturally gluten-free products - rice flour, corn flour, groats and glues from the above cereals.
Unfortunately, what we can find on the store shelf is usually not gluten-free. Why? Because 'ordinary' corn flour is ground in the mills - in the same rooms where the gluten-containing flour is stored.
How do you buy safe flour? About this in a moment.
For now, let's get to the gluten traps. Sausages, dairy products, medicines, fruit preserves, sweets, cornflakes, ketchups, sauces, drinks, spices (especially mixtures) - there may be gluten in all these products.